Murder She Uncovered by Peg Cochran #BlogTour #BookReview

I am so delighted today to provide a review for you at my blog stop for Murder She Uncovered by Peg Cochran on the Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours.

Murder She Uncovered

Book Details

Murder, She Uncovered (Murder, She Reported Series)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Alibi (May 28, 2019)
Print Length ~230 Pages
Digital ASIN: B07H1X2RT9

Book Blurb

An intrepid 1930s Manhattan socialite uncovers deadly secrets during an assignment to the Hamptons in this riveting historical cozy mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Anne Perry, and Rhys Bowen.

Westhampton, 1938. To the dismay of her well-to-do family, Elizabeth “Biz” Adams is quickly establishing herself as a seasoned photographer over at the Daily Trumpet. Growing more confident in her decision to pursue a career, Elizabeth is thrilled when she and her reporter sidekick, Ralph Kaminsky, are sent to Long Island to cover the story of a young maid found dead in one of the glamourous summer homes in the devastating aftermath of the Great New England Hurricane—also known as the Long Island Express.

At first it’s assumed that the young woman was caught in the terrible storm, but when a suspicious wound is found on the side of her head, the police suspect murder. The maid’s death becomes even more tragic when it’s discovered she was pregnant, and with Elizabeth and Kaminsky at the scene of the crime, the Daily Trumpet scoops all the other papers in town.

The young woman’s boyfriend emerges as the likeliest suspect. But as Elizabeth follows the story, she begins to wonder whether someone in the household of the maid’s employers might be responsible—someone who’ll stop at nothing to keep the truth about the baby’s paternity hidden. . . .

My Review

Murder, She Uncovered by Peg CochranHow fun is that? A historical cozy mystery! And you know what? I really enjoyed it! This is book 2 of the Murder, She Reported series, but I had no problem reading as a standalone as the characters come alive from page one eighty-one years ago–back in 1938–actually.

Elizabeth Adams is seeking some independence from her well-to-do Manhattan lifestyle and went to work for a local newspaper. When she had the chance, she immediately jumped into the realm of the journalist photographer for her seasoned reporter partner, Ralph Kaminsky. He’s become a great mentor and it’s been a learning curve but one she accepts with enthusiasm.

Following a hurricane on Long Island, she and her partner are sent to cover the mysterious death of a young maid of one of the resident’s wealthy homeowners. While there was certainly death and destruction due to the hurricane, the young woman exhibits a wound that would not have been caused by the deadly storm. Unfortunately, the young woman is also found to have been pregnant.

The character of Kaminsky does indeed sound right out of the 30s, chain smoker, and is sweating getting the next scoop to keep his job. Elizabeth (Biz) exhibits all the characteristics (though I wouldn’t know from experience) of the wealthy class who survived the Great Depression and is used to the finer things. It also means she’s a bit on the naive side, innocent to the world out there, and even worse–working in a male-dominated world. (HORRORS!) She is also learning to navigate the good-ole-boy network and is keen on making her mark. Of course, that just wasn’t done then–she should be reeling in a fiancé by now, planning parties, shopping for the latest fashions, and keeping to her station in life; not hob-nobbing with the rabble.

Being back in the 30s is an examination of our recent history, the mores then dividing class, and a country confronting issues never dreamed about ten years previous–trousers on a woman?? It’s a fun romp in the time and tide of the country when censorship was definitely more lax and women were just awakening to the opportunities that extended beyond the kitchen and babies. Elizabeth is a great character, still dodging her family and their judgment but discovering she is capable and can decide for herself whether or not the (wealthy) man groomed for her would be her choice (or not). And that was my only niggle–the comfort in her lifestyle, money, meals, and domestic help. It’s still too easy for her to slip back into that monied zone.

I was given this download by the publisher and NetGalley for this book tour and greatly appreciated the opportunity to read and review. This cozy is a different and thoroughly enjoyable experience and I’m looking forward to seeing more in this series. Recommended for those who read cozies, but would prefer one with a unique premise in a different time and culture.

Add to Goodreads

About the Author

Peg Cochran - author

Mystery writing lets Peg Cochran indulge her curiosity under the guise of “work” (aka research). As a kid, she read the entire set of children’s encyclopedias her parents gave her and has been known to read the dictionary. She put pen to paper at age seven when she wrote plays and forced her cousins to perform them at Christmas dinner. She switched to mysteries when she discovered the perfect hiding place for a body down the street from her house.

When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading, cooking, spoiling her granddaughter and checking her books’ stats on Amazon.

A former Jersey girl, Peg now resides in Michigan with her husband and Westhighland white terrier, Reg. She is the author of the Sweet Nothings Lingerie series (written as Meg London), the Gourmet De-Lite series, the Lucille series, the Cranberry Cove series,   and the Farmer’s Daughter series.

Author Links:  

Website – http://www.pegcochran.com/

Newsletter Sign Up –  http://www.pegcochran.com/newsletter-signup.html

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pegcochran

Twitter – https://twitter.com/@pegcochran

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5352603.Peg_Cochran

BookBub – https://www.bookbub.com/authors/peg-cochran

Purchase Links:

Amazon    B&N   Kobo

Thank you for visiting my stop on the tour and please visit the other stops listed below!

Tour Participants:

May 28 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

May 28 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

May 29 – ❧Defining Ways❧ – SPOTLIGHT

May 29 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

May 29 – Here’s How It Happened – REVIEW

May 30 – The Cozy Pages – REVIEW

May 30 – fundinmental – SPOTLIGHT

May 31 – View from the Birdhouse – REVIEW

May 31 – LibriAmoriMiei – REVIEW

June 1 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW, GUEST POST

June 1 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

June 2 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW

June 3 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW

June 3 – Readeropolis – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

June 4 – Rosepoint Publishing – REVIEW

June 4 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

June 5 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

June 5 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

June 5 – 4covert2overt ☼ A Place In The Spotlight ☼ – SPOTLIGHT

June 6 – Ruff Drafts – GUEST POST

June 6 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW

June 7 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

June 7 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

June 8 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

June 8 – Kelly P’s Blog – SPOTLIGHT

June 9 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW

June 9 – Babs Book Bistro – SPOTLIGHT

June 10 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW

June 10 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW Great Escapes Book Tours

Thanks to Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for the opportunity to read and review this cozy mystery!

©2019 V Williams Blog author

Advertisements

Author: Rosepoint Publishing

I am the granddaughter of Patrick John "Stanley McShane" Rose whose books including "Cocos Island Treasure" I've recently published. My time is now spent in reading, reviewing, and writing bookish articles. I'm looking forward to sharing this social media odyssey with you!

7 thoughts on “Murder She Uncovered by Peg Cochran #BlogTour #BookReview”

  1. Great review Virginia. Historical cozies are really becoming big and although I am not big on that sub-genre, it sounds like there might be more to it than my one or two forays into it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Rosepoint Publishing Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s