A Deception Most Deadly (A Cassie Gwynne Mystery Book 1 by Genevieve Essig –#BookReview – #TuesdayBookBlog

Book Blurb:

Meet Cassie Gwynne: bookworm, cat lover, reluctant heiress… and determined detective?

Deception Most Deadly by Genevieve EssigFlorida, 1883. Cassie Gwynne is looking for a fresh start when she steps off the steamship at Fernandina harbor for the first time. She’s trying hard to be a proper lady, for once. She’s styled her unruly hair, shined her boots, and even purchased a whole new fashionable (or at least fashionably priced) wardrobe. However, she’s certain finding a body is not very ladylike behavior…

While out exploring the beautiful island with her Aunt Flora, Cassie stumbles across the body of Peanut Runkles, town grump and her aunt’s neighbor, lying at the foot of the harbor pilots’ lookout tower. To make matters worse, because Peanut and Flora have been quarreling for years over everything from Flora’s eccentric ideas to her pet pig’s fondness for Peanut’s vegetable patch, Flora is immediately arrested for murder.

Desperate to save the only family she has left, Cassie vows to prove Flora’s innocence and untangle the mystery herself, no matter how much the surly local sheriff disapproves. Cassie’s brilliant mind and nose for a clue lead her on an investigation that takes her all around the island, and even earns her a valiant furry friend in Esy the kitten.

But how does the mysterious ledger Cassie finds hidden in a secret drawer in Peanut’s desk connect to the crime? Cassie is determined to dig up the truth, but can she catch the killer before her time on the island comes to a deadly end?

This warm and witty cozy mystery will transport you to the island city of Fernandina and introduce you to a feisty heroine far before her time! Perfect for fans of Verity Bright, T E Kinsey and Deanna Raybourn.

My Review:

I usually enjoy historical cozy mysteries and was hooked by the cover and the blurb that sounded like it might be a bit different. Cassie Gwynne is an heiress (lucky her) and has discovered upon her dad’s death an aunt she never knew existed. So off she goes, to Fernandina, an island city to hook up with the only family she has left.

First, her aunt Flora is highly unusual in that she is an independent perfume entrepreneur who is an animal lover. It’s her pig that first lands her in the pokey when he goes rooting around the neighbor’s garden. Peanut Runkles is the pending victim and though no love is lost to anyone in the town, all points turn to Cassie’s aunt. Right away, you know she’s innocent—right?

A few things I enjoyed: (1) The sense of humor

“So, long as he’s paying, I’m pouring.”

(2) The animals – dogs, birds, cats, including one particular kitten, and, of course, the pig.

Deception Most Deadly by Genevieve EssigOkay, sorry. Two things I enjoyed. What I did not so much:

(1) The length of the narrative. Shouldn’t a cozy be only two-thirds this long? This is one long cozy mystery made longer because I could not get into it.

(2) The characters. So many. Support characters everywhere. A book that requires a chart to keep track of them and what the connection was. Then again, I didn’t care for most of them, including Cassie, so that point goes moot. Clearly, I must have slept through the connection to the heartthrob—or how could she have already known him? This is new territory for her.

(3) Historical questions: LOTS of gum chewing. (Where was she buying all this gum and what was in it?) Wearing a (French?) twist in her hair? Really? In 1883? Other little details that I questioned were common (or at all) in that time period.

(4) Cassie found the body fairly quickly and then due to the ineptness of the local police took another two-thirds of the book to really start making headway while it was Cassie who provided all the clues. And also the twists—not the hair kind.

Some descriptive scenes at the beginning and heavy dialogue dispensing some innocuous minutiae (clothing choices, blah, blah, blah) and the sense of humor is not sufficient to spur page-turning. Sorry, but this obviously is not a book for me. I battled my way through, started skip-reading pages, and still the mystery was no further along. At that point, neither did I care.

I received a complimentary review copy of this book from the author and publisher through @NetGalley that in no way influenced this review. These are my honest thoughts.

Rosepoint Rating: Two-point Five Stars Two and one-half Stars

Add to Goodreads

Book Details:

Genre: Cozy Culinary Mystery, Cozy Crafts & Hobbies Mystery
Publisher: Bookouture
ASIN: B09M7LM6HS
Print Length: 343 pages
Publication Date: January 14, 2022
Source: Publisher and NetGalley 

Title Link(s): A Deception Most Deadly

Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble

Genevieve Essig - authorThe Author: Genevieve Essig was born in Florida but, after many years of school and other shenanigans in the northeast and midwest United States, she now calls New Orleans home. When she’s not writing historical mysteries or getting lost down research rabbit holes, she spends her time practicing law, shooting pool, performing opera and musical theater, ogling old buildings, acting for film and television, futzing with inventions that address highly specific and possibly only-annoying-to-her problems, traveling, ranting at bartenders about the evils of straws, riding horses, and petting strange cats. If you have suggestions for additional hobbies or are interested her books, please visit her website (genevieveessig.com) or connect with her via Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram (@essigauthor).

©2021 V Williams

Christmas bough

 

Author: Rosepoint Publishing

I am the granddaughter of Patrick John "Stanley McShane" Rose whose books including "Cocos Island Treasure" I've recently published. My time is now spent in reading, reviewing, and writing bookish articles. I'm looking forward to sharing this social media odyssey with you!

I love comments, ideas, and sharing. I will respond to you shortly!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

readingtonic

book reviews

Competitive World

Your Competitive Exam Companion

News from Ibonoco

Moments de vie, fragments de textes et quelques notes...

Poet The Mirror

Poetry My Religion

Foster Your Writing

Write Like You Know What You're Doing

SUSANNE LEIST

Author of Paranormal Suspense

psychologistmimi

Food, Road Trips & Notes from the Non-Profit Underground

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

daneelyunus

This site is about the knowledge of different categories such as education, , health, mobiles, and tourism

culturevultureexpress

A little bit of everything

Yolanda - "Det här är mitt privata krig"

Kreativ text, annorlundaskap, poesi, bipolaritet, Aspergers syndrom, fotografi

City Of Brides (Dating Single Ukrainian Girls)

Meet your beautiful Ukrainian bride in the "City of Brides"

Trust and Believe In The Unseen

Live with More Light & Faith by CM.

Tel-Aviv's feral cats

Videos of feral cats on the streets, and my own four feral felines at home, feline humor, advice, and gifts for your cat.

Life

You read it, you love it!

Let's Talk

Life is running,Time is running, So the power, Use it.

Tales of Origen

Monsters Are Real

Balladeer's Blog

Singing the praises of things that slip through the cultural cracks

The Chamber Magazine

Contemporary Dark Fiction and Poetry

Pattimouse

A glimpse into the mind of a half mad poet

Blogger's World!

Where creativity meets passion!

BOOKISH CORNERR

So many books, So little time

WilsonKatumba

Discipling,Empowering and Fostering Nations

Audaysciously

Digital chatters of an introvert

Pensieri Parole e Poesie

Sono una donna libera. Nel mio blog farete un viaggio lungo e profondo nei pensieri della mente del cuore e dell anima.

Rab's Bookish Planet

My Thoughts Are Here.

Cosmic Latte

Books, movies, life and everything in between...

You Lil Dickens

Words To Think On

Autoimmune-ptsd-stress-anxiety-depression-fibromyalgia-ms-wellbeing-natural-sleep..

Autism-spectrum-disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder.. autoimmune.

Mitch Teemley

The Power of Story

JennyLou's book reviews

My escape from reality reading books

pe blog

Travelling is a good way to make your life different as well as fitness and a balanced diet.

Wordy Witterings

On Reading and Writing... mostly.

San Gabriel Writers' League

Encouraging & Equipping Writers for Success

Roving Savant

Read Travel Hustle

Free Fonts

Fonts Download

Unclearer

Enjoyable Information. Focused or Not.

%d bloggers like this: