Dark Rivers to Cross: A Novel by Lynne Reeves – #BookReview – #domesticthriller

Book Blurb:

For fans of Hannah Mary McKinnon and Kimberley Belle, this emotionally charged thriller explores long-buried family secrets and the deadly reckoning that often follows their explosive reveal.

Dark Rivers to Cross by Lynne ReevesFor two decades, Lena Blackwell has kept her sons at her side, teaching them everything she knows about running their successful river lodge in Northern Maine. But what she really wants is to keep her boys in the dark about their tragic past.

Her son Luke is right where he belongs, working at the family inn sheltered by acres of pine forest that stretch along the Penobscot River. So when his adopted brother, Jonah, threatens to upend their peaceful life by searching for his biological parents, Luke refuses to help.

Lena is determined to thwart Jonah’s search to uncover his own history. But the unexpected arrival of old friends at the inn for a weekend off the grid throws her plans into disarray. Little does she know, Jonah has already gleaned enough information to set in motion a deadly reckoning.

Luke may not want to know anything about his family, but he’s caught between the hard truths his brother is determined to expose and the devastating secret his mother is desperate to keep—at any cost.

Dark Rivers to Cross sensitively explores inherited trauma and the stories we tell the ones we love. It’s about what one mother is willing to sacrifice for her children.

His Review:

Escaping an abusive relationship is never easy! It was particularly difficult for Lena because her husband was a very well-respected surgeon. He seemed to have a split personality and in the quiet of their home, he abused her violently. Escape was the only way she could save her life and the lives of her unborn twins.

Dark Rivers to Cross by Lynne ReevesShe escaped with a couple of suitcases into the upper concourse of the Penobscot River with her two new babies. She told everyone they were adopted and that their ages were different. A small hunting lodge with a few cabins was the childhood for her two boys. She called them Luke and Jonah and their male role model was a very understanding older man who sheltered the family.

Finally, her husband was required to take a psychiatric evaluation because of his erratic behavior. Subsequently, he was committed to a facility for his affliction. Underneath he hoped he could find her as hate and revenge became his primary motivators.

The boys grew up in a supportive and healthy environment. They were required to assist in the maintenance of the facility and also to make sure that the canoes and row boats were clean and serviceable for the guests of the lodge. Luke was content with the status quo but Jonah wondered who his birth parents really were.

Lena wanted both boys to go to college; Luke was interested but Jonah deferred to stay at the lodge and help with the day-to-day activities. The schism between the brothers leads to a number of adventures and ultimately their exposure when their father is still seeking revenge.

CE WilliamsThis is an entertaining tale of life in the mountains near the upper Penobscot River. The tension builds throughout the narrative and I was very involved in the overall tale and story. Enjoy the ride! 4 stars – CE Williams

Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

Rosepoint Publishing: Four Stars 4 stars

 

Add to Goodreads

Book Details:

Genre: DomesticThrillers, Small Town & Rural Fiction
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
ASIN: B09S3F5WS2
Print Length: 288 pages
Publication Date: November 8, 2022
Source: Publisher and NetGalley
Title Links: Dark Rivers to Cross [Amazon]
Barnes & Noble
Kobo

 

Lynne Reeves - authorThe Author: LYNNE REEVES GRIFFIN is a novelist and a nationally-recognized expert on family life.

Writing as LYNNE REEVES, she’s the author of the domestic suspense novels, DARK RIVERS TO CROSS (Crooked Lane Books, November 8, 2022) and THE DANGERS OF AN ORDINARY NIGHT (Crooked Lane Books, 2021).

Writing as LYNNE GRIFFIN, she’s the author of the novels, GIRL SENT AWAY (SixOneSeven Books, 2015), SEA ESCAPE (Simon & Schuster, 2010) and LIFE WITHOUT SUMMER (St. Martin’s Press, 2009).

Lynne has written the nonfiction parenting guide NEGOTIATION GENERATION (Penguin, 2007). She teaches writing at Grub Street Writers. She has written short fiction, essays, and articles for Parenting Magazine, Writer Magazine, Psychology Today, Chautauqua Journal, Solstice Literary Magazine, Brain, Child, and more.

To learn more about Lynne, visit http://www.LynneGriffin.com or follow her at https://twitter.com/Lynne_Griffin and https://www.instagram.com/lynnereevesgriffin/.

©2022 CE Williams – V Williams V Williams

rustic bookshelves

Author: Rosepoint Publishing

I am the granddaughter of Patrick John "Stanley McShane" Rose whose books including "Cocos Island Treasure" I've recently published. My time is now spent in reading, reviewing, and writing bookish articles. I'm looking forward to sharing this social media odyssey with you!

2 thoughts on “Dark Rivers to Cross: A Novel by Lynne Reeves – #BookReview – #domesticthriller”

I love comments, ideas, and sharing. I will respond to you shortly!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Learning with Life

Poems, quotes, learning, feelings, introspect, experience as well as discovering..

Premier Tech Studios

You press Digital, We Do The Rest

Akwafrigeria

Truth to Light

Reading with My Eyes

lots of tales from the spine, your place for book reviews of all kinds

Oma's Minute

The heart and thoughts of man is broad. I share reasonings that alot of people out there needs to hear and hopefully adds value to their world***

beauty care products

I am a blogger of beauty care products

skyy

Short story blogger - I hope you read

Emma's Writing Things

A place to share the things that I write

An Amyzing Journey

Tips, tricks, & funny stories about adventuring & mental health

coolpeppermint

memories and musings

Scribbles 'n Bits

Original poetry, short stories, and other bits.

BEST WEB DESIGNING INSTITUTE

BEST WEB DESIGNING INSTITUTE

Let's talk

Vibe alone for a while

Barbara Crane Navarro

Rainforest Art Project - Pas de Cartier !

RealStuff by RealMe

Before, After, Then, Now and NEVER!

Islamic Dua and Wazifa For Love back and Solve All problems

Love problem Solution in just 2 Days: Lost love back, ex love back, ex husband back, ex boyfriend and other all love problem Solution. Call and Whatsapp +91 9571300113

Poetic reflections

Poetry and expression of ideas

Julia's Bookshelves

Book Reviews, Reccomendations, & Travel

stephiebooks.wordpress.com/

Book Reviews, Tags, Vlogs, & More.

a.mermaid'spen_

I read, rant and write ;)

PHOTO.RİP

PHOTO FASHİON VİDEO MUSİC

Beneath The Bones

seeking inspiration

Learning Thursdays

It is hard to fail, but worse to have never tried - Abraham Lincoln

MiddleMe

Becoming Unstuck

ARBIND KUMAR BLOG

arbindkumar475151597. wordpress.com

Bhuvana Chakra

The Power of Living God Ministries

The Wild Coach

You are an important nexus of energy

Virtualidades

Blog do jornalista e professor Solon Saldanha

Happiness for a moment with you....

I'm glad I learned to express my thoughts clearly and everyone loves to read them. Sometimes it takes a lot of thinking power to think about the surroundings. Someone who likes it, someone who enjoys it, appreciates that he is writing very well. Reading and commenting on the post I wrote would give me a lot of bullshit and I would get new ideas to write new ones. I'm really glad I got your response.

Brian Cook's Blog

When the gods wish to punish us they answer our prayers. - Oscar Wilde

Writing Roses

Welcome to the Roses

Sophrosyne

I'm a Doctor with so many random thoughts, so I decided to blog.

Scott Clark | Teaching, Writing, Research

Portal to primary school blogs, research and resources | Middle Years/Young Adult story writing

UNITBALL

a medical education website

Endless dreams and boundless imaginations!

We only live once. Hence, let's not stop dreaming

readingtonic

book reviews

Competitive World

Your Competitive Exam Companion

%d bloggers like this: